Old School?

Hardcore

Registered
Apr 20, 2006
Albany, Georgia, USA
I've noticed that a lot of the posters here are quite young.

I was wondering if there are any old school gamers around? I've been gaming now for 26 years, and I've seen a lot. I own a 2600, 3DO, Saturn, Dreamcast, PS2, Gamecube, Xbox, and X360.

Define Old School .. .

I am 25 and I have been playing video games for at least 20 of those years. I first played an Atari that my parents got an garage sale, and our family got a NES when I was in 1st grade, and that is when I really got into gaming, so if tht makes me old school, then there is at least one.

spudly is closest.

My era began with Pong. My parents(father, specifilcally) bought a Sears Pong system when they were married in 1974. I was born in 1976. My indoctrination into gaming began with three systems - arcade systems my father owns, a heavy-sixer 2600 my uncle owns, and a TI-99 computer system. My greatest memories were of playing these old games, and I have yet to really recreate those days outside of emulation. Going back.

I've seen games during my life that people only see screenshots of. :)

I'm a youngin' and very green in comparison to many in video games (I picked up around PokéMon; embarrasing, but true), but I have gotten to experience lots of the games that were the heart and soul of this "old school" business. When I go over my boyfriend's house, we sometimes still fire up the Sega Genesis and have a go at Sonic, Shining Force (which I will finish some day), or Kid Chameleon. I also have a <sometimes> working NES that I luv the bejeezus out of... Maybe some of you old geezers can toss out some of your fave games, so I can give 'em a go :)

I'm old school, though not one of the legends who started at the very beginning. 2600 was my first gaming experience when I was 2.