Merchandise IDEAS

PithPulchritude

Registered
Jun 23, 2005
NYC
pithpulchritude.mygamer.com
I know we discussed this at the last meeting, but I'm not sure if we went into it much after that. I was thinking about bumperstickers (we can use non-adhesive ones for those who worry about permanent marks) to spread the word. At least the bumper stickers for now, so people know of our existence as we drive through our towns. Mugs, bags, and of course the shirts through our own online store or at cafepress. We gotta boost funds and hits.

Any other ideas to get the MyGamer name out there?

This is not really a merchandise idea, but more of a business idea. While I graduated from college with a degree in economics, I was not very good at it, so this may be the worst idea since Greedo shooting first.

Could we maybe look into establishing some relationships with newspapers? As video games become more and more mainstream, we will probably see more coverage in newspapers. If any of us live in smaller towns, they probably buy some random article from somewhere. What if we were that somewhere? I don't know too much about freelance writing, but perhaps it could generate some revenue for us as well.

Just an idea. My parents have been encouraging me to see who covers video games for the big paper here in Atlanta. While I doubt a bigger paper would hire me who only has a GC and GBA, they might consider hiring mygamer because we could provide multiplatform coverage. I think it may work better for those who live in smaller towns, but like I said, I am not the business expert.

If this idea has been previously considered and rejected, then I apologize for wasting everyone's time. Later.