Is Steam making you spend more on games than you used to do?

pcgamer

Registered
Nov 7, 2014
Steam is a double edged sword for me. I have been a PC gamer for last 2 decades now. Yep, I have been playing games since I was only 2 years old. I remember spending money on games very wisely. The situation is very different now though. With the introduction of Steam Sales, you just can't resist the temptation to buy some games just because they are hella cheap. You think I just managed to save $50 by buying a $60 game for only $10. What you are essentially doing is spending more than you'd normally do.

Steam has saved me money, and not only through the sales. I would spend more money on games if not for sales, as I have little self-control.

It's my first time looking on there since I got a free game with my computer. I looked through the whole catalog of demos and there wasn't any interesting games on there. I actually don't want to look at the paid games because I might find something that I want if I look hard enough and I don't have much money to spend on games right now.
I just looked for Sims though and it's the ones I already have.

Sometimes it does, but sometimes I make money out of it, like selling trading cards or drops from games. Though I do spend on games or game skins, so I've probably lost more money than I've made.

I think overall i'm saving money with steam. I think games are just getting more expensive nowadays. Especially with things like dlc. The sales though are great, its not something that you get as often as other platforms. I also play the heck out of steams free games, so im happy.

It's my first time looking on there since I got a free game with my computer. I looked through the whole catalog of demos and there wasn't any interesting games on there. I actually don't want to look at the paid games because I might find something that I want if I look hard enough and I don't have much money to spend on games right now.